• EN
  • Board of Management

    The STEAG GmbH Board of Management is responsibly for the management of the STEAG Group. In addition, they regularly report to the Supervisory Board on any matters of relevance to the company.



    Dr. Andreas Reichel

    Chairman of the Board of Management

    Born 1961
    Since August 2020 Andreas Reichel has been a member of the Board of Management of STEAG GmbH and its Chairman since January 2022.

    Previously, Andreas Reichel was acting Industrial Relations Director for E.ON Germany since 2018, a function which he exercised in addition to being a member of the Board and Industrial Relations Director of E.ON edis AG, today E.DIS AG, positions which he had held since 2006. After studying law in Bonn he received a doctor’s degree in 1994 from the University of Cologne. In 1985 he became a member of the State Parliament of North Rhine-Westphalia. In his ten years as MP Andreas Reichel was member of various committees and became Secretary General of the North Rhine-Westphalian FDP in 1992. In the years 1995 to 2006 he was responsible for communications at the then Ruhrkohle AG and at Ruhrgas AG.

    Dr. Ralf Schiele

    Board Member

    Born 1966
    Ralf Schiele has been a member of the Board of Management of STEAG GmbH since October 2020.

    Having obtained a doctorate in mechanical engineering, he joined STEAG encotec GmbH in 1999 as a project manager. At the end of 2000 he moved to the former STEAG AG as Project Manager IPP Project Development and was initially responsible for the Southeast Asia region and then for Europe. From mid-2004 to the beginning of 2008, he held the function of Head of Sales and Marketing at STEAG KETEK IT GmbH and in 2008 moved to the Corporate Development and Portfolio Management department of Evonik Industries AG. Sn May 2011, Ralf Schiele joined STEAG Energy Services GmbH (SES) as a member of the Management Board, and from July 2011 to May 2021 he held the post of Chairman of the Management Board.

    Ralf Schmitz

    Board Member

    Born 1967
    Ralf Schmitz has been a member of the Board of Management of STEAG GmbH since July 2021.

    The graduate industrial engineer and partner in the management consultancy Schmitz & Partner, has been working successfully as CEO or CRO in the restructuring of industrial companies for more than two decades. He also has proven experience in the development and expansion of new business areas and in negotiations with financiers.

    Supervisory Board

    The Supervisory Board of STEAG GmbH has 19 members. It brings together representatives of the shareholders, of the employees, of executive personnel and of the Mining, Chemical and Energy Industrial Union (IG BCE). The Supervisory Board supervises and advises the Board of Management in performing its Group management tasks.

    Dr. Ralf Bartels¹/²/³

    Deputy Chairman

    Head of Sustainability / Energy Transition Management IG BCE

    Shareholder Representatives

    Rainer Enzweiler1
    Lawyer and Notary Public off duty, Duisburg

    Hartmut Gieske
    Member of the Board
    Energieversorgung Oberhausen AG

    Jörg Jacoby2
    Chief financial officer
    Dortmunder Stadtwerke AG

    Josef Kremer
    Member of the Management Broad
    Stadtwerke Dinslaken GmbH

    Dr. Christoph Morgen
    Managing Director of the trustee KSBGTH

    Dr. Arndt Neuhaus2
    Executive Consultant

    Guntram Pehlke1/3
    Chairman of the Executive Board of Dortmunder Stadtwerke AG

    Dr. Jan Markus Plathner
    Managing Director of the trustee KSBGTH

    Dietmar Spohn1/2
    Member of the Management Board
    Stadtwerke Bochum Holding GmbH

    Employee Representatives

    Gerhard Grabmeier1
    Chairman of the Group Works Council
    STEAG GmbH

    Markus Drese
    Chairman of the Works Council for the Walsum Power Plant

    Bernd Hagemeier1/2/3
    Deputy Chairman of the KBR-BGR
    STEAG GmbH

    Nicole Mohr
    Chairwoman of the Works Council
    Technology and infrastructure

    Gerrit Peters
    Chairman of the Central Works Council
    STEAG GmbH

    Thomas Zimmer
    Deputy Chairman of the KBR-GBR
    STEAG GmbH

    Representative of executive

    Verena Sievers
    Head of Head of Human Resources and Executives
    STEAG GmbH

    Representative of the Mining, Chemicals and Energy Industrial Labor Union (IG BCE)

    Karlheinz Auerhahn
    Recklinghausen Area Manager IG BCE

    Michael Vassiliadis1
    Chairman of the IG BCE union

    1)  also a member of the Executive Committee of the Supervisory Board
    2)  also a member of the Auditing Committee of the Supervisory Board
    3)  also a member of the​ Transformation Committee